1 reply to this topic

#1 Miniguy

Miniguy

F-Series Newbie

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 May 2009 - 05:41 AM

Hey guys,
I'm new to the Ford world so please bare with me. I just got a 79 F-350 4x4 from my brother in law as a wedding gift. The truck needs alot of work but is a good project. The main problem i'm having is that this truck is completely bastardized. From doing alittle research, it seems that its a 79 body, which is how the truck is registered, sitting on an early 73-77 frame and its got a 460 under the hood. The fuel tank is in the cab which is not an option on a 79, it has an early auto steering column but is running an NP435 and also has an NP205 "divorced" transfer case which isnt original to a 79. Theres a 3/4 ton Dana 44 high pinion up front and a Dana 70 in the rear and I believe thats all original to the 350. So as you can see, i've got some work ahead of me.

So here are my plans and this is where i need some help/info from you guys.

I will be transplanting either a cummins 5.9 or a Ford 7.3 diesel in there, havent made up my mind yet. I'm gonna keep the NP435 but would like to do a direct mount of the NP205 instead of having the extra driveshaft of the divorced unit. Probably need to go to some taller gears to accomodate for the diesel. Gonna keep the leaf spring suspension all around but sport some good shocks. Depending on the engine, the frame rail may get boxed and of course, a heavier leaf set up front will be a must with the diesel. The fuel tank is coming out of the cab and going back under the rails where it belongs!

So here are some questions:
What do I need to un-divorce my transfer case and is that a good choice for the torque im gonna be running?
How can I find out the exact year of my chassis so ordering parts wont be a nightmare?
Are all parts generic for a 73-77 chassis or are there some subtle differences?
Any good resources for adapters and mounts to move the transfer case and convert the engine?