Body Lift Vs. Suspension Lift

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_danielop18_*

Guest_danielop18_*

Posted 17 August 2004 - 04:51 AM

This will sound as if I'm stupid but I am fairly new to 4*4. What is the difference between a body lift and a suspension lift, do you need both to lift up a truck, which is better, and whats the best names in the industry to use?

#2 Guest_broncoshell_*

Guest_broncoshell_*

Posted 17 August 2004 - 06:51 AM

First thing, it's not stupid at all!!! That is what this forum is all about... The body lift is where you just lift the body. the suspension lift is where you are lifting the frame & body to add big tires & ground clearance. Some good lifts are Superlift, Sky-Jacker. You can go to the broncograveyard.com & find out a lot more about lift kits... Welcome to the Zone & feel free to ask any question... Good luck with your truck!!! :)>-

#3 Guest_Freewheel Burning_*

Guest_Freewheel Burning_*

Posted 19 August 2004 - 11:44 AM

Just to clarify things a bit, envision this:

The frame of your Bronco is the center point, with the body bolted to the top of it, and the suspension bolted to the bottom of it. With a body lift, you put spacers between the body and frame, thereby raising the body while the suspension and frame stay in the same place. This is good for giving you extra fender clearance. With a suspension lift, you are putting in taller springs which adds space between suspension and frame. This raises everything but the axles. The axles only get raised when you put the bigger tires on that you now have room for!

I just put the Superlift 4" suspension lift in my 79, which I highly recommend. I did it in my driveway, with basic hand tools, and it took me about three weeks of evenings and Saturdays. Broncograveyard.com and 4 Wheel Parts got most of my business. Good luck.

#4 Guest_billybroncojr_*

Guest_billybroncojr_*

Posted 19 August 2004 - 01:18 PM