Carb And Other Info

2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_JeepComa_*

Guest_JeepComa_*

Posted 26 November 2004 - 06:39 PM

Just picked up an '84 Bronco II today, it's got the 2.8L V6, 5sp 4x4. I haven't had the chance yet to go over the car, so I have no idea what's under there. Ford isn't really my thing, so I don't know a lot about what components they used. My bro's got an '89 5.0 Mustang so I have some experience with that config, and my '73 AMC Javelin had a Ford 2bbl carb, and I've fooled around with the Ford distributors before, but that's about as far as my Ford specific knowledge goes.

It's running pretty well, but I'd like to give it a full tuneup because that's the sort of thing I do. I plan on checking/adjusting the timing, idle mixture, cold idle and warm idle, and a compression check. Can anyone tell me the specs for these settings? I'll set timing to the factory setting then start advancing it degree by degree to get the most advance I can without pinging. Will I benefit from a recurve kit or is the factory curve decent? Idle mixture by the lean drop method should be easy enough, what are the cold idle and warm idle RPM settings? My guess is 1200 and 900 RPM? What should I get for PSI ratings? And what's the CR while I'm at it? Somewhere around 8.4:1?

Any tips or anything to look out for? I haven't found a website with this kind of info yet, some links would be much appreciated.

Oh yeah, what are the stock gear ratios for the tranny and differential? Not sure if it's a lockup or not, I'll have to crawl under there and look at what's stamped.

Thanks for the help.

#2 Guest_Blue_coyote_*

Guest_Blue_coyote_*

Posted 05 December 2004 - 12:52 PM

Best thing would be to buy a manual (Haynes, Chiltons, Clymer, Helm, factory shop manual, etc.) and go from there.